Stroke Clinical Advisory Board

Dr. Bath is Stroke Association Professor of Stroke Medicine, and Chair and Head of the Division of Clinical Neuroscience at the University of Nottingham. He is also convener for the Neuroscience@Nottingham and Vascular Research multidisciplinary groups, and National Institute for Health Research (NIHR) Associate Director for Industry and Prevention in the Stroke Research Network. With 339 publications, he was the Stroke Association Keynote Lecturer in March 2015.

Clinically, he contributes to the NUH Stroke Service (in-patient and out-patient stroke care) and Hypertension Clinic. As an NIHR Senior Investigator, his main research interests cover the treatment of acute stroke (blood pressure lowering), prevention of stroke recurrence and cognitive impairment (antiplatelets, blood pressure, and lipid lowering), and enhancement of recovery using stem cells. He uses preclinical studies, clinical trials (phase I to IV), and systematic reviews to help address these questions.

Dr. Bath received his MD from King’s College London, University of London and his DSc from the University of Nottingham.

Prof Bruce Campbell is a consultant neurologist and Head of Stroke at Royal Melbourne Hospital. He is a professorial fellow in the Melbourne Brain Centre @ RMH, Department of Medicine, University of Melbourne and a fellow of the Australian Academy of Health and Medical Science.
His research interests are focused on the imaging and treatment of acute stroke and he was co-principal investigator and medical co-ordinator of the EXTEND-IA and EXTEND-IA TNK multi-centre randomised trials published in the New England Journal of Medicine in 2015 and 2018.
He is Chair of Clinical Council and a director of the Stroke Foundation and co-chairs the Australian stroke “living” guidelines working party. He has been an inaugural member of the Victorian stroke telemedicine project and chairs the Victorian Statewide Stroke Reperfusion Therapy Committee. He co-chairs the World Stroke Organisation Young Stroke Professionals Committee and is the co-ordinator of the National Brainschool training program for neurologists in training. 

Pooja Khatri, MD, is the director of the Acute Stroke Program for the University of Cincinnati Stroke Team and a professor of neurology at the UC College of Medicine.

Khatri received her BSc with Honors (Biological Sciences) from Stanford University in 1995 and her MD with Honors from the University of Illinois College of Medicine in 2000.  After neurology training at the University of Pennsylvania, Dr. Khatri came to UC in 2004 to complete a vascular neurology fellowship through the NIH Specialized Program of Translational Research in Acute Stroke (SPOTRIAS).  She joined the UC faculty in 2005, was awarded an NIH Career Development Award (K23) in 2006 and received the American Heart Association (AHA) Robert G. Siekert Young Investigator Award in 2008.  She completed a master’s degree in clinical epidemiology from the Harvard University School of Public Health in 2011.

Khatri is a dedicated clinician who provides neurological care to patients at the UC Medical Center and emergency stroke care at more than 15 area hospitals. Khatri was awarded the Cincinnati Business Courier’s Forty under 40 Award in 2012.  She has been recognized as a “Top Doctor in Cincinnati” by Cincinnati Magazine annually since 2011 and a “Best Doctor in the TriState Region” by Cincy Magazine annually since 2010.

Khatri is a recognized expert in acute stroke, the research of its treatments, clinical trial design/implementation and stroke systems of care. She participates in the leadership of several international multicenter clinical trials and leads UC’s National Institutes of Health NEXT Network clinical site for pilot trials of neurosciences. She has been a standing member of the FDA Peripheral and Central Nervous System (PCNS) Drug Advisory Panel and has authored numerous manuscripts, books and clinical guidelines. She was one of three Americans elected to the board of the World Stroke Organization in 2016.

Dr. Madeddu is Chair of Experimental Cardiovascular Medicine and Head of the Section of Regenerative Medicine, School of Medicine at the University of Bristol. With 250 peer-reviewed publications in PubMed, his is a worldwide expert in regenerative cardiovascular medicine with significant research interest in the role of kallikrein-kinin system in angiogenesis and vascular biology. He serves as Chief Editor of Frontiers in Cardiovascular Science (Regenerative Medicine) and is Associate Editor at Circulation Research, ATVB, and Scientific Reports

Dr. Madeddu received his MD from the University of Sassari.

Dr. Volpi is the Co-Director of the Eddy Scurlock Stroke Center at Houston Methodist and Associate Professor of Clinical Neurology at the Institute for Academic Medicine. His research interests are in the management and prevention of ischemic stroke, and the critical care of patients with neurological illnesses such as intracerebral hemorrhage, epilepsy, and nervous system infections. His studies also involve the use of ultrasound in the evaluation of blood flow to the brain and development of novel therapies for improving patient outcomes in stroke.

Dr. Volpi received his MD from Baylor College of Medicine